Posted on Leave a comment

Mini Masterpieces Book Tour

Mini Masterpieces book by Alyce Blyth and coordinating Aurifil thread collection

Mini Masterpieces Book Tour

Jane here from @janepipkeandherpins sharing my creation and review of Alyce Blyth’s new book – Mini Masterpieces.

Here are four of the blocks, framed in Liberty and Kona White.

I’m thrilled to be part of Alyce’s book tour and sharing here for Ava and Neve. You see Alyce is one of my best friends and I have been with her every step of the journey for this book: from concept, to creating, writing and publishing (even helped cut out fabric for quilts!). And honestly guys, writing books is hard work and takes a LONG time. I don’t think many people realise just how long when you hold this gorgeous book in your hands. It has made me appreciate the books on my shelf from other incredible designers so much more.

For the book tour, Alyce asked each person to create from one section of the book. Each section covers one technique with the option of creating a mini quilt or combining for a full sampler quilt.

I was tasked with the simple curve block. I only needed to do one small block but I need new cushions in my loungeroom (I have a new blue velvet chair!) so I decided to turn my block into blockS and make a cushion. I took colour inspiration from a  cushion I already have that I love and pulled out gorgeous Liberty fabrics in teal, navy and green.

The book is AMAZING. The photography is stunning. It is so inspiring seeing these mini’s as art pieces and really, when you think about your creations – they are works of art, so why not celebrate them. The instructions are clear and beginner friendly – and you certainly have the opportunity to take your blocks to the next level if you are a more advanced quilter.

I try not to get too emotional about this book but I’m just so proud of this incredible girl. When we recently got together to see the book in person for the first time, I cried big ugly tears … or big friendship tears in the middle of the cafe. Especially when I read her acknowledgement at the back of the back. With me. Little old me included.

Giveaway on Instagram

Aurifil has given us two spools of thread to giveaway to one lucky person. We decided to add a couple of coordinating Liberty fabrics to start your creations of Mini Masterpieces.

Head over to Instagram to enter. All you need to do is the usual: follow us, comment below, tag a friend and make their day by telling them why you think they are amazing! For an extra entry – head over to @janepipkeandherpins and do the same on her photo.

Preorder the book

Don’t forget to preorder the book! Preorders really help with the success of book releases, and especially on Amazon. If you want a signed copy by Alyce, you can click here to preorder a signed copy, otherwise here’s where else you can preorder her book.

Book tour

It’s a couple of weeks of fun with sharing the sample blocks from the book – make sure you check out all the awesome makes.

November 18 – Simple Squares

Sarah from Sarah Ashford Studio@sarahashfordstudio

Janice from Better Off Thread@betteroffthread

November 19 – Strip Piecing

Molli from Molli Sparkles@mollisparkles

Sarah from SariDitty@sariditty

November 20 – Snowball Blocks

Ali from Arabesque Scissors@arabesquescissors

Kitty from Night Quilter@nightquilter

November 21 – HSTs

Andrea from 3rd Story Workshop@3rdstoryworkshop

Caitlin – @caitlinpolden

November 22 – Flying Geese

Kirsty from Bonjour Quilts@bonjour_quilts

Karen from Karen Lewis Textiles@karenlewistextiles

November 23 – HRTs

Jemima from Tied With A Ribbon@tiedwitharibbon

Rebecca from Bryan House Quilts@bryanhousequilts

November 24 – Simple Curves

Nicole from Modern Handcraft@modernhandcraft

Ava & Neve@ava_and_neve

November 25 – Complex Curves

Elisabeth from Elisabew Quilts@elisabew

Samantha from Aqua Paisley@aqua_paisley

Christopher from The Tattooed Quilter@the_tattooed_quilter

November 26 – Improv Curves

Aurifil@aurifilthread

Nicholas from Quilts From The Attic@quiltsfromtheattic

November 27 – Applique

Lauren from Molly And Mama@mollyandmama

Sedef from Down Grapevine Lane@downgrapevinelane

November 28 – EPP

Sharon from Lilabelle Lane@lilabellelane

Jodi from Tales of Cloth@talesofcloth

November 29 – FPP

Kristy from Quiet Play@quietplay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *